Home SPORTS Watch: ‘Mere ko peechhe chhor diya kyuki…’ – Amit Mishra’s cheeky congratulatory...

Watch: ‘Mere ko peechhe chhor diya kyuki…’ – Amit Mishra’s cheeky congratulatory message to Yuzvendra Chahal | cricket news

In a historic Indian Premier League (IPL) moment on Monday, Rajasthan Royals’ leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal etched his name in the annals of cricketing history by becoming the first bowler to achieve the remarkable feat of claiming 200 wickets in the IPL.
IPL 2024: Results | Points Table
The 33-year-old Chahal reached the significant milestone during Rajasthan’s match against the Mumbai Indians at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.Chahal wasted no time, dismissing Mohammad Nabi on just the third ball of his opening over, to create history. He ended up with figures of 1 for 48 in four overs. Debuting in the IPL in 2013, Chahal reached this milestone in his 153rd appearance. Notably, he holds the title of the highest wicket-taker in the tournament’s history and currently shares the top spot for most wickets in the ongoing IPL season, having scalped 13 wickets. Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel also have 13 wickets to their name.

Sending a cheeky congratulatory message to Chahal via a video, fellow veteran leg-spinner

Amit Mishrawho is in the Lucknow Super Giants squad, said: “Hi Yuzi, I am very happy for your 200 wickets. You have given me the priority because I am not playing, that is why you have gone bad. And I wish you this. I am waiting for my chance to beat you again.
(Translated to English: “I am very happy for your 200 wickets. You left me behind because I am not playing. That’s why you have gone ahead, and I wish that a healthy competition remains…let’s see what happens going forward”).

LSG shared the video message on social media.

Interestingly, the list of top five wicket-takers in the IPL includes three leg-spinners.
With 173 wickets in the IPL, Mishra occupies the fifth position in the list headed by Chahal. At number two is Dwayne Bravo with 183 wickets, followed by another leg-spinner Piyush Chawla at number three with 182 wickets and veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar at number four with 174 wickets.
Prior to Chahal, only two other bowlers had achieved the feat of 200 wickets in a T20 competition — Danny Briggs (219) and Samit Patel (208), both in England’s T20 Blast.

Of Chahal’s impressive tally of 200 IPL wickets139 were secured during his tenure with the Royal Challengers Bangalore from 2014 to 2021.
Having joined the Rajasthan Royals in 2022, the 33-year-old spinner has continued his stellar performance, adding 61 wickets to his tally for the franchise thus far.

Source link